Save 10% on Your Texas Auto Insurance!
Texas law allows a driver to complete a defensive driving course to receive an auto insurance discount of up to 10%.
The driver must complete a TEA approved course, such as the one offered here by Texas Drive Safe. Our course provider, Driver Training Associates, is approved by the Texas Board of Insurance to offer the 6-hour driving safety course (defensive driving) for an auto insurance premium reduction effective for 3 years.
Approved for Most Insurance Providers
Drivers who would like to take advantage of these great savings should first contact their insurance provider to find out if they are eligible to receive the discount. They will inform you of their discount rates and procedures and where you need to send your certificate of completion once you have finished the course. Most Texas auto insurers will provide a discount, but some do not.
Taking the Course for Ticket Dismissal
Drivers frequently attend a state approved defensive driving program for Texas ticket dismissal. If a Texas court or judge has given you this option, you can sign up for the course on our website – just choose "ticket dismissal" as your reason for attendance when you register.
Once you have finished the course, you will receive a two-part certificate of completion. The first part must be turned in to your insurer for your insurance discount, and the second part must be turned in to the Texas court so that you will receive credit for your ticket dismissal course.
Taking the Course for Insurance Discount
If you selected "insurance discount" as your reason for attending, you will receive a single certificate to turn in to your insurance agent. It is always a good idea to make a copy of this certificate for your records. Your agent can tell you how the discount will be applied to your policy.
Texas Defensive Driving